Lawyers Marbella

Schengen space

Schengen is the name used to designate an agreement between five initial countries: France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg, popularly known as "BENELUX". The aim of the Agreement was to simplify the procedures for mobility between citizens of these countries. Thus, the mechanism for moving between the different countries of the European Union would be less complex, saving time and simplifying administrative procedures.
The real abolition of border controls did not take place until March 1995, which means that Schengen was a gradual process and not something that started immediately.

The Schengen area is based on customs police cooperation, for which purpose a distinction is made between two types of border: internal, i. e. the territory within the Schengen area; and external, the external border of the area (the land and sea surrounding the countries).

Although the abolition of internal border controls has been introduced, this does not mean that countries cannot impose certain minimum conditions on EU citizens. This is the case, for example, with regard to the duty to register when a person is going to stay in another EU country for more than 90 days. In addition to this, SIS: Schengen Information System. This serves to keep up-to-date information on EU members, especially for cases of persons who have committed a serious crime, such as murder, terrorist acts, etc.

The external borders are regulated by the Schengen Borders Code. To complement this, there is a European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders of the European Union (FRONTEX).

If you need legal advice as a foreigner residing in Spain and want to get your work or residence permit in the country, contact specialized immigration lawyers. Lawyers Marbella offers you all kinds of legal advice to process all the permits you need.

We offer you immediate and effective legal assistance. Contact us now for more information